

OFFICE OF THE PROVOST AND Shuster Hall, Room 381 SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT FOR 250 Bedford Park Blvd West Fax: 718-960-8042 ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

Bronx, NY 10468

Phone: 718-960-8222 www.lehman.edu

TO:	The Lehman College Community
FROM:	Peter O. Nwosu, Ph.D.

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Student Success

**DATE:** 25 February 2019

RE: Call for Nominations for the Excellence in Teaching Awards

Each year Lehman College recognizes a full-time and a part-time faculty member for Excellence in Teaching at our commencement ceremony. This is a call for nominations for these awards.

Any full-time or part-time Faculty with the following qualities is eligible:

- Exhibits outstanding teaching ability
- Consistently demonstrates command of an area of study
- Displays an ability to transmit knowledge to others
- Encourages a love of and passion for learning in his/her students
- Shows extraordinary concern for students and other members of the Lehman community
- Makes a substantial difference in students' academic and/or personal lives
- Brings respect to the teaching profession

To be eligible for the Excellence in Teaching Award, a full-time faculty member must have been employed full time during at least one semester of the academic year 2018/2019, and must have tenure or the Certificate of Continuous Employment (CCE). Previous awardees are not eligible.

To be eligible for the Adjunct Teacher of the Year Award, a candidate must have completed a minimum of six (not necessarily consecutive) semesters of teaching at Lehman College. Previous awardees are not eligible.

Please send all nominating letters to the Office of the Provost at provost.office@lehman.cuny.edu no later than Monday, March 18, 2019.

If you have any questions, please contact Professor Carl Mazza, Chair of the Excellence in Teaching Awards Committee, at (718) 960-7862 or carl.mazza@lehman.cuny.edu. A list of previous awardees follows.



## **Excellence in Teaching Previous Recipients:**

Diana Battipaglia, Music Herbert Broderick III, Art Ira Bloom, Political Science Graciela Castex, Social Work Joseph W. Dauben, History Charles Dougherty, Chemistry Louis Flam, Anthropology Young Kun Kim, Political Science Julian D. Laderman, Mathematics and Computer Science Jane E. Levitt, Health Sciences Carl Mazza, Social Work Sondra Perl, English Esther Phillips, Mathematics and Computer Ruby Phillips, Psychology Vincent Prohaska, Psychology John L. Richards, Chemistry David Rothchild, Mathematics and Computer Science Gary Schwartz, Languages and Literatures William Seraile, Africana Studies Scott Westrem, English Suzanne Yates, Psychology Ruth Zerner, History Bruce Byland, Anthropology Evelyn Ackerman, History Terrence Cheng, English Marta Ghezzo, Music Keith Happaney, Psychology Mardi Valgemae, English Janette Tilley, Music, Multimedia, Theatre and Dance Marie Marianetti, History Jessica Yood, English Maryam Bamshad, Biology Duane Tananbaum, History Joseph Fera, Mathematics

## Adjunct Teacher of the Year Previous Recipients:

Grace Bullaro, English Michael Deas, Africana Studies Susan Hoeltzel, Art Randolph Ortiz, Sociology Anne Rice, Africana Studies Eileen Treacy, Psychology Jack Henning, Biological Sciences Vic Madho, Counseling, Leadership, Literacy and Special Education Janet Gonzalez, Chemistry Ralph Boone, English Judith Duncker, Political Science Wilma Borrelli, Sociology G.D. Peters, English Martin Gitterman, Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences Kenneth Piccinnini, Counseling, Leadership, Literacy and Special Education